An open letter to a professional troll

A heartfelt and sincere letter to ‘professional’ troll Rev Stuart Campbell.

PsychoStalker Fringe
By Longshanker aka @Ergasiophobe

Dear Mr Campbell of ‘media monitoring’ site Wings Over Scotland

RE: VEXATIOUS UNFOUNDED ACCUSATIONS

I’ve been thinking about writing this letter for some time now. I would have written it much earlier but I had to be sure that any residual disgust and anger I felt toward you – concerning the subject matter of this letter – had dissipated.

You see, it’s not every day you find out that someone has accused you of being a would be gang rapist and murderer with a quantifiable arrest record –  like you have done with me.

I don’t know how many people you have been peddling this poisonous falsehood to, but I reckon you’ve calculated there’s not a great deal I can do about it. I operate anonymously after all and, invariably, anonymous operators have something to hide.

I hide my identity because I poke fun at politicians, predominantly, though not exclusively, of the Nationalist persuasion. Such ‘satirical mischief’ could potentially result in the loss of my current employment and severely curtail future employment in my field.

That’s why, sometimes, though admittedly rarely, the language used in AhDinnaeKen is intemperate. It’s written for cheap laughs more than anything else. I like to flatter myself that I occasionally land a belly laugh . If AhDinnaeKen makes one reader laugh it’s job done as far as I’m concerned.

So, if anyone out there calls me a coward or gutless or snivelling or whatever for operating anonymously, go ahead. You’re wrong. Plain and simple.

However, I consider your “stalker”, murderer and gang rapist accusation to be much more seriously cowardly and vexatious than anything concocted in the whole 400+ AhDinnaeKen blog posts combined. You see, I think I know why you made the unfounded accusation.

Like any extremist or narcissist or sociopath or misanthrope or misogynist or whatever aggressive pathology with controlling tendencies it is you suffer from, you can’t abide those willing to stand up to and expose you. If you can’t control them, they must be bullied, belittled, diminished, denigrated, destroyed and dismissed. (Please excuse the over the top alliteration there, sometimes I can’t help myself.)

You’ve referred to AhDinnaeKen as your “stalker blog” yet, if you look at the posts filed under the “Wangs Watch” category and do the math, you’ll find that it forms less than 8 per cent of the whole blog.

How self important and self serving you must be to think that AhDinnaeKen is about you. Only a categorical malicious idiot or an unhinged narcissist could possibly think that.

I know which option I’m hedging my bets on – both.

After you banned me from your site for stating that the word “Unionist” could be replaced with “English” and it wouldn’t change the flavour or intention of your site one bit, you showed your true evasive and pettily vindictive colours.

Not content with bannning me, which you’re perfectly at liberty to do – despite it flying in the face of your professed anti-censorship stance – you acted in a manner which can only be described, at best, as ‘curious’.

You reported me as a spammer to the WordPress admin system Akismet resulting in an inability to post on several sites such as Better Nation, Burdzeye View and Bella Caledonia.

Quite why you did that is curious. I have my suspicions.

THE PETTY VINDICTIVE ACCUSATION
What goes beyond curiousity though is your behaviour of the 6th June 2012 after I posted the AhDinnaeKen piece entitled “Notorious “anti-Censor” Censors comments in Censorious act of Censorship.”

You sent me a little note on the blog stating: “How intriguing that you’ve omitted the post you were actually finally banned for.”, to which I replied: “I hadn’t actually realised that you had deleted it at the time, hence no record. Feel free to post it here though.

6 June 2012Curiously, you neglected to send the post. What is really “intriguing” though is the timing of your note (12:48pm 6 Jun 2012) and the timing  of your banning notice (Wed,  6 Jun 2012 12:39:26 +0000 (UTC) ) on what is now your ‘quarantine’ page. The proclamation is still there for all to see.

ScreenshotThe really curious issue is that the post in your quarantine page which, at the time, was called “Discussions of Rev. Stu’s personality”, shows a time stamp of “4 June, 2012 at 1:39 pm“.

That’s one hour forward and two days back from the time shown on the email – which was automatically received by me upon the comment being posted by you. I had subscribed to the page and was notified every time anyone posted a comment on the page. Very curious – the two day difference – don’t you think?

For your information, I checked with an IT professional friend of mine to see if, perhaps, the anomaly of that one hour forward and two days back time stamp could have been explained by a delay in the email delivery system.

To cut a long story short, there was no delay. The delivery of your comment to my email box was virtually instantaneous. This is quantifiably, electronically and empirically provable. And I have the evidence to prove it.

Therefore, there is only one conclusion which can be reached. You deliberately doctored the time stamp in order to undermine the point being made in the Notorious anti-censor blog. In effect, you tried to make it look as if I had fabricated all of the screenshots at the bottom of the piece.

Any explanation as to why you would do that would be appreciated. From where I’m standing it looks, at best, mean spirited and deceptive – in terms of the debate. At worst, it exposes you as a cheap grubby wee cheat who doesn’t even have the brains to cover his own tracks when he’s not playing fair.

I’ll leave the inevitable conclusions on your actions up to any interested parties. They can decide for themselves.

Question on Time Stamp

This legitimate query was not answered by the ahem, ‘professional’ journalist.

They may also be mildly interested to know that I Tweeted to your @RevStu account the following day, 7th June 2012, to ask why you had changed the time stamp. Unsurprisingly, reply there came none, apart from a blocking. Natch!

THE SERIOUSLY VINDICTIVE ACCUSATION
Still, doctored timestamps, deletion of posts and manufacture of enemies appears to be de rigueur petty spitefulness as far as you’re concerned (scroll to bottom of this linked to page for an interesting chinnyhill10 comment).

Much more concerning however is the accusation you raised against me behind my back.

Here’s what you wrote to a third party:

Your new best friend that you’re so keen to cite in order to smear me is a delightful chap who was arrested by Glasgow police a couple of years ago for, among many other things, posting a long and detailed plan to gang-rape and murder me. Happy to provide you with police case numbers etc in order to verify.

So here’s the rub Mr Campbell. You’ve made this very serious accusation against @Ergasiophobe (me). If you have any decency, you must name and shame.

For the record, unlike yourself, I have never been arrested in my life.

You’re a poker player and a self professed ‘professional’ journalist. You’re being called on your alleged professionalism, integrity and ethics.

You’re being called to reveal this alleged identity of @Ergasiophobe and you’re being called to cite the facts and sources for this outrageously vindictive and malicious accusation.

I assume you consider me an enemy of independence – having previously accused me of being a Labour Unionist – again without one shred of evidence. So here’s a reminder of something you wrote recently:

“Wings Over Scotland will continue to present the case for independence – not impartially but truthfully, with facts sourced and cited – and we will fight all of its enemies, be they in the opposition camp or our own.”

What I want to know is this: Where are the facts? Where are the sources? Where are the citations? And most important of all, where is the truth?

Without any of these, your accusation is subjective spurious supposition dreamed up in your vindictive and paranoid imagination. I presumed you dreamed this one up in order to deflect from your being exposed on the 3rd April 2013 for making a misogynistic homophobic statement – a claim for which there is indeed citable evidence.

There may or may not have been an individual arrested in Glasgow. All I know is that whether or not this individual actually exists, which I suspect he does, I have never been arrested in my life.

SCENARIOS
As I see it, there are three possible scenarios:

1) You retract the accusation and apologise due to the accusation being a malicious fabrication.

2) You prove the claim and provide irrefutable citable evidence that I, the person who uses the @Ergasiophobe account, am lieing and am playing a game of bluff about my identity.

3) You play a game of bluff by either ignoring this post, or counter claim that I am lieing about the source of your accusation.

OUTCOMES
Of the above three scenarios the potential outcomes will probably be as follows:

1) No chance. You lack the courage, integrity, honesty and ethics to admit you have been exposed for making false accusations.

2) An impossibility. There is no evidence of any kind whatsoever to link me to this alleged individual. If you do name anyone I’ll prove to credible independent third parties that I am not the named would be gang rapist/murderer.

3) Most likely. It’s a stupidly dangerous game for you to play. All the citable evidence and proof is in my hands: I can prove you did change the date/time stamp. I can prove I have never been arrested in my life. I can also prove that you made the maliciously vexatious accusation. You know that you made it also.

It’s a straight and sincere demand Mr Campbell. Prove your mettle. Prove you possess some semblance of integrity and honesty. Prove that you’re not just a nasty wee misogynistic smear merchant with a point scoring agenda driving your alleged ‘professional’ journalism.

By conning Blair Jenkins into legitimising your indy debate idea recently, you have injured the Yes campaign by damaging its leader’s reputation. Better Together will be able to use Mr Jenkins apparent trust in you to queston his judgement.

My demand is as follows. Admit your mistake was motivated by malice and apologise.

Sometimes when someone angers you, you can react in ways you end up regretting. The exposure of your misogynistic homophobic comment may not be irrefutable proof that you are a misogynistic homophobe. But when you couple the exposure of the statement to your actions thereafter i.e. vexatiously emailing people to accuse me of having planned to gang rape and murder you, then you’ve taken it way beyond standard trolling. Surely even you can see that?

Without an apology and a retraction however you leave me no alternative but to pursue the matter.

Even your followers – at least the sensible ones – will see the wisdom in my demand. At this moment you’re holding a busted flush and I’m ‘calling’ you on it.

I’m exposing you as a liar and a sham who is prepared to exploit underhanded means in order to silence dissent. In your words, “man up” and do the decent thing. Apologise.

Yours sincerely

Longshanker aka @Ergasiophobe

The more discerning may want to revise the sentiment on this banner.

The more discerning may want to revise the sentiment on this banner.

22 Comments

Filed under Wangs Watch

22 responses to “An open letter to a professional troll

  1. You didnay miss him and hit the wall with that lol

  2. “To cut a long story short, there was no delay. The delivery of your comment to my email box was virtually instantaneous. This is quantifiably, electronically and empirically provable. And I have the evidence to prove it.”

    The only way for you to even possibly back this assertion is to fully publish the entirety of the email headers. I’m a software, server and network engineer and I’m glad your “IT professional” chum is not a colleague of mine (I hope), because there are multiple ways email can be legitimately and accidentally delayed. So you have two choices here:

    1. Stay anonymous… don’t publish the email headers and have this rant dismissed as the unfounded assertion it currently is. With a side serving of irony and hypocrisy.

    2. “man up”, as you put it, and find some chops. Publish the email headers in full so that those more qualified than yourself can critically examine them.

  3. Dear Longshanker

    This is pretty nasty stuff, I am sorry you find yourself in the same boat as me, I have a stalker on twitter using my name, my picture and linking to my blog.

    They public state that I am a paedophile, a homosexual, a homophobic bigot, and other really offensive stuff. In my youth I taught children and young adults, so this is really damaging to me. I see the abuse escalate when I get published elsewhere or appear and speak on TV debates about indy.

    I had to go to Police Scotland and file a complaint. This has been a prolong and sustained hate campaign since the start of the year.

    In politics, it can be rough, but there are limits to observe, clearly you should consider a formal complaint to the Police also.

    Yours sincerely

    George Laird
    The Campaign for Human Rights at Glasgow University

  4. Carrie Morrison

    If you hide under a false identity and Wingsoverscotland has a wikipedia account detailing who he is – it makes you immediately suspect in any claims you have about him. If what you say is true do what Graham Anderson suggests Man Up publish your proof and report wingoverscotland. Here’s the rub – the way you answered Graham suggests that isn’t even a possibility. So continue your anonymous fictional blogs if it makes you happy – but they mean absolutely nothing

    • Eck Peden

      Indeed, but don’t forget that outside the blogosphere bubble, the anoraks and the converted, Wings over Scotland and Mr Campbelll mean absolutely nothing either.

      And if there’s ever a threat they will have any real significance in public life Mr Campbell’s character will be assassinated forthwith.

      After all, that’s his own modus – fly with the craws you get shot with them.

      • Thankyou Eck

        Sage words and a hefty dose of realism indeed.

        It amuses me that some of his acolytes have commented here in order to defend his vindictiveness.

        The righteous indignation undermines their sense of perspective somewhat.

        Still, that’s the type of vacuous undiscerning thinkers that absolutists like Mr Campbell attract.

        Regards

    • Submitted on 2013/08/10 at 5:32 am | In reply to Carrie Morrison.

      Thankyou Carrie

      – it makes you immediately suspect in any claims you have about him.

      Your premise and conclusion are fallacious. Do you really think like that or are you just brimming with fevered and self righteous indignation?

      …the way you answered Graham suggests that isn’t even a possibility.

      No it doesn’t.

      So continue your anonymous fictional blogs if it makes you happy

      It does.

      For the record Carrie, if you’re prepared to go out on a limb based on a fallacious belief – that’s your character defect. You have to live with it. You have my sympathy.

      In this matter I’ve dealt with simple irrefutable facts – a doctored timestamp and a malicious accusation.

      Regards

  5. Ergiasophile

    You’re an anonymous Unionist extremist.

    Wings is quite open about his identity.

    If you want to talk about honesty and integrity, then stop hiding behind a pseudonym.

    And if you think Wings has wrongly impugned you, then why, instead of writing anonymous articles on an anonymous website, don’t you sue him?

    There can only be one reason why you don’t sue, and gain a portion of his mammoth donations: that his accusation is true.

    • Thankyou Ergasiophile (top marks for originality too)

      You’re an anonymous Unionist extremist.

      Wrong on two counts out of three. Well done.

      And if you think Wings has wrongly impugned you, then why, instead of writing anonymous articles on an anonymous website, don’t you sue him?

      Not the brightest concerning the law are you?

      There can only be one reason why you don’t sue….

      So irrefutably wrong and risible you’ve made me laugh. Even Mr Campbell would laugh at your categorically ill informed statement.

      Regards

      NB: Take a look at the following: http://joanmcalpine.typepad.com/joan_mcalpine/2009/11/more-thoughts-on-blogging-the-mainstream-media-and-double-standards.html

      Kind of interesting don’t you think? (If indeed you do think.)

    • Eck Peden

      This wouldn’t be the FAKE George Laird using yet another pseudonym to get all sanctimonious about anonymity?

      Err, hello? Massive irony/hypocrisy alert?

      • Thankyou Eck ??

        I was going to Tweet reply that myself, but I’m getting lazy these days so it’s why I chose to Retweet it instead.
        It made me laugh out loud.

        Regards

  6. Hermione

    Story in the print Telegraph today about a certain Nat Parliamentary Aide to the FM being cited in the Mark McLachlan divorce case. No doubt it’ll make it onto the website this evening or tomorrow.

    How were you able to call it so early?

  7. “Such ‘satirical mischief’ could potentially result in the loss of my current employment and severely curtail future employment in my field.”

    Quite shocked to hear employers are going after political bloggers. I can fully understand the need to maintain the company image and so on but provided employees aren’t giving the impression they speak on behalf of their company, it strikes me that employers are over-stepping the mark.

  8. Sam Brady

    Woah!! This is the weirdest thing I’ve read in my life, and I’ve read some weird things!!

    Let it go, man. Looks like he banned you over a year ago, and yet here you are writing a biiiigggg open letter full of conspiracy theory BS. He’ll probably never even read it, man!!

    You say you only talk about his website 8% of the time like it’s somethin to be proud of… But that’s still some creepy-ass shit, dude! That’s like 50 posts, all about some asshole on the Internet you had an argument with!! I mean hey, there is some real funny shit there, but I don’t think its for the reasons you meant!!

    I hope I never have to ban you from a forum, because I’d be hella scared of you comin after me too LOL!!

    • Thankyou Sam

      Woah!! This is the weirdest thing I’ve read in my life, and I’ve read some weird things!!

      Some people think honey and peanut butter sandwiches are weird. Interesting lack of perspective you have there.

      I hope I never have to ban you from a forum,

      You won’t. You’ve said nothing of interest so far. I wouldn’t be interested in a forum you were on.

      Regards

  9. LOCHNAGAR

    What a load of drivel.
    you actually sound like your mentally ill, & a bit of a big girls blouse.

    • Thankyou Lochnagar

      What a load of drivel

      I always appreciate concise and eloquent criticism. Well done!

      you actually sound like your mentally ill, & a bit of a big girls blouse.

      Did you get somebody to write that for you? Well done again.

      Regards

Leave a Reply

