An open challenge to Joan McAlpine MSP

Joan McAlpine accuses AhDinnaeKen of hate preaching, libel and smears. The Parliamentary Liaison Officer further compounds the accusation by stating that Longershanker would be charged if his identity was exposed. Do I smell a challenge or is is just standard Tu Quoque politico pish on a plate? AhDinnaeKen takes a look.

"If you call your opponent a politician, it's grounds for libel." - Mark Russel.  Indeed. Joan's an alleged politician alright. A Nationalist McCarthyite style politician.

“If you call your opponent a politician, it’s grounds for libel.” – Mark Russel. Indeed. Joan’s a politician alright. A Nationalist McCarthyite style politician.

By Longershanker

OOER READERS, another case of the Potty throwing stones in the glasshouse at the kettle.

This time, it’s Joan McAlpine, Parliamentary Liaison Officer to the First Minister doing the casting of the first stones.

On Easter Sunday too. Tsk tsk. If you had shame Joan, you should hide your head in it.

AhDinnaeKen will come straight to the point now that the preliminary pleasantries are out of the way.

Take a look at the Tweets above and then consider the following:

Joan Tweets a link to her 6,000+ followers pointing them to a Wangs piece which exposes Labour MP Ian Davidson fibbing on camera about his voting record on the bedrooom tax.

Woo hoo! Result for the SNP! They’ve been desperately trying to discredit and smear the ignoramus Scottish Affairs Committee bootboy for ages and now they’ve got him.

Smears, libel and lies

No fabrications by Dr Eilidh Whiteford MP required, no sustained below the line wormtongue whispers by Gail Lythgoe, Joan’s researcher, needed.

So far so good for the SNP smear machine. A citizen journalist (not WANGS), got Davidson where the £1 million plus SNP Star Chamber couldn’t.

But, and this is a big BUT. Take a closer look at Joan’s Tweet. It draws attention to Wangs, not the real disseminator of the exposee.

Why not? Surely such a scoop needs the correct attribution by a Parliamentary Liaison Officer?

A big question needing answered and, indeed, the reason AhDinnaeKen used our back up Twitter account to contact Joan.

The politician cannae take it captain
Joan blocked Ergasiophobe after this piece lampooned her record for wasting Parliamentary time. So the phrase “can gie it oot but cannae take it” comes to mind. But ho hum – I digress.

Longershanker asks Joan why endorse Wangs as the disseminator of the piece and uses the hashtag #endorsement to make a point.

The reply encapsulates everything which is wrong with Joan, the SNP and the Yes campaign – because, y’know, they’re more or less undiscernible (apologies to Patrick Harvie who is, of course, estimable).

In classic Tu Quoque politico mode, Joan makes the ridiculous claim that Longershanker would be charged if exposed. Ooer Missus!

In the context of the Tweet we* can only assume she means charged with, smearing, libel, hate preaching or anonymity.

The Challenge

So here’s the rub Joan. You have now committed the same alleged crime you accuse me of.

If you really believe I have a case to answer, have me charged.

I’ll hand myself into the nearest police station or lawyer’s office – wherever’s easiest – so that my real identity becomes known to you.

As, I suspect, your claim is just another empty, libellous, sham Nationalist assertion, I demand you apologise to me for so ably demonstrating  the attributes of smear, libel and #internetnutcase-ism.

And, just to show how fair minded, honest and tolerant I am, I even promise to apologise here over any alleged smears, libels, hate preaching etc., I’m alleged to have committed throughout the whole of my Twitter and  AhDinnaeKen career.

Oh. And one last word of wisdom, for free, to you Joan: You’re getting too long in the tooth to be a Tu Quoque tease these days.

Have another glass of Pinot Grigio or a wee white whine. You plainly haven’t had enough for the day.

Regards.

Longshanker – Editor of AhDinnaeKen.

14 Comments

Filed under CyberNats, Opinion, Wangs Watch

14 responses to “An open challenge to Joan McAlpine MSP

  1. Take it you haven’t been locked up yet then? But I wonder precisely what Ms McAlpine means? She refers to ‘smears’ and ‘libel’ and being ‘charged’ if exposed. Well libel is a civil matter, not criminal, so you certainly can’t be charged with that. Or maybe by ‘smears’ she’s alluding to the SNP’s Offensive Communications thingy, but I’d like to see her try anything with that – oh what fun!

    Or perhaps she’s alluding to some kind of offence of treason in a future Scotland forging its own destiny and all that, because of course decisions for Scotland are best made by people living here, except of course when they’re living in a press under the stairs in Bath.

    Which brings to mind another possibility, namely trial by inquisition in the Wings over Scotland star chamber by the various MacTorquemadas therein ( if you’ll excuse the mixed historical metaphors!).

    And in any case she should also recall that ‘vulgar abuse’ doesn’t constitute libel, as the Rev Stu himself has gleefully pointed out in the past.

    Plenty sabre-rattling on the internet, but you’d think a confidante of Alex Salmond would rise above that kind of thing.

    • Stewart, I presume you meant to write ‘defamation’ as libel is a construct of English law and has no meaning in Scots law. Similarly, ‘vulgar abuse’ is an English concept only. Try to be more careful next time.

      Oh, and the Bath remark – Rev Stu is holding the press to account. Are you suggesting that this can only be done legitimately from one geographical location? I don’t really understand your point, but then I suspect you don’t understand it either, do you?

      • Thankyou Mr Scotlandshire

        Rev Stu is holding the press to account.

        Kudos for this comment. It’s the funniest thing I’ve ever seen BBC Scotlandshire write by a clear mile – assuming it’s meant to be satirical.

        If it isn’t, then kudos for making me faw oot mah chair laffin. Ah coudnae parody that – apologism as satire, weel din.

        Regards

      • “Stewart, I presume you meant to write ‘defamation’ as libel is a construct of English law and has no meaning in Scots law.”

        Um, yes, I did a degree in English law around 25 years ago, and funnily enough there was a wee bit on the tort of defamation, and while the minutiae escapes me these days, I still have a reasonable grasp of the fundamentals. As for Scots law, you’re correct that I’m not particularly au fait with the law in question, but it was Joanie who mentioned the word ‘libel’, thus I assumed she was either using the word loosely or perhaps alluding to where this blog is hosted, because that seems to be axiomatic in the context of defamation (or whatever) in the online environment, so I simply followed her line of reasoning, and in essence thought she was alluding to things beyond my ken.

        “Similarly, ‘vulgar abuse’ is an English concept only.”

        Again I was just following Rev Stu’s line of argument, because as I recall it he didn’t refer to jurisdiction. Anyway, although as I said I’m certainly not an expert on Scots law, I find that legal concepts such as defamation are often pretty similar between both jurisdictions (eg manslaughter v culpable homicide) so to that extent didn’t think it necessary to get into the minutiae, particularly when I didn’t intend for anyone to take my reply wholly seriously (see below). Me, I just try using a bit of common sense regarding what I say without getting bogged down in ‘legal constructs’, or whatever.

        “Try to be more careful next time.”

        Indeed. And perhaps you could spell my name correctly next time?

        “Oh, and the Bath remark – Rev Stu is holding the press to account. Are you suggesting that this can only be done legitimately from one geographical location? I don’t really understand your point, but then I suspect you don’t understand it either, do you?”

        Oh, I understand it perfectly well. Maybe it’s just me, but a bit of a paradox surely between the pro-indy shtick of people in Scotland being best placed to decide how it’s run and a long-term resident of Bath authoring a pro-indy website that a significant number of supporters of independence seem to be coalescing around in terms of debate and indeed in terms of significant financial support? Yes? Or perhaps it’s just me?

        Anyway, thanks for the critque, but I should also add that my response was to an extent supposed to be tongue-in-cheek and in keeping with the ethos of this blog, which is satirical, but perhaps Joanie doesn’t get it, but I’d have thought that in view of your own website you would?

    • Stewart

      Or perhaps she’s alluding to some kind of offence of treason in a future Scotland

      Yes! That crosed my mind when I wrote the piece. When the forces of Scottish liberation triumph after the mighty Yes vote of 2014, I might just find myself quaking in my smearing, libellous, hate preaching #internetnutcase boots. 🙂

      Plenty sabre-rattling on the internet, but you’d think a confidante of Alex Salmond would rise above that kind of thing.

      You might think that, I couldn’t possibly comment.

      Regards

      • Longshanker, since you normally spell my name correctly I’ll blame your slip on Mr BBCScotlandshire ;0)

        But at least you’ve picked up the #internetnutcase badge of honour!!

  2. STUART!

    Longshanker, since you normally spell my name correctly I’ll blame your slip on Mr BBCScotlandshire ;0)

    Yes, it was all Mr Scotlandshire's fault. He did it and ran away. Nothing to do with me.

    But at least you’ve picked up the #internetnutcase badge of honour!!

    Indeed. I’m disappointed I haven’t gained #speedinghypocrite though. Still. Plenty of time till the Neverendum eh?

    Regards

  3. Stuart, I read your response with interest, but I still cannot distil out the point you are trying to make about Rev Stu.

    Yes, the Indy debate is all about self determination for the residents of Scotland, but that does not preclude anyone else from taking part in the debate, they simply have no franchise.

    Are you trying to make some sort of ethnic nationalist point so beloved of the Brit Nats. If so, surely you are aware that the SNP are civic nationalists, and that identity has nothing to do with it, despite all the Braveheart wind-ups.

    ps Does my nominal spelling meet with your approval now?

    • Mr Scotlandshire

      ps Does my nominal spelling meet with your approval now?

      It’s your sub-nominal sentence construction I’m worried about.

      What are you trying to say? Spit it out man.

      That second sentence makes no sense whatsover. It’s turgid at best, nonsensical at worst.

      Regards

    • Well indeed anyone can have their say on Scottish independence, but if the franchise and independence per se are all about Scottish residents then a long-term resident of Bath being considered some kind of sage on the issue is a bit odd, surely?

      Can’t quite understand your point about ethic nationalism either. I’d be all for being at the “heart of” a more integrated Europe as that Euro Nat Alex Salmond desires, for example, but I have no more respect for governance from Brussels as that from Westminster and Holyrood. And indeed the SNP’s irrational love of the EU shambles juxtaposed with their hatred of Westminster demonstrates that there’s definitely a covert ethnic dimension to it all, despite their overt advocacy of civic nationalism.

  4. I’m sorry, I mistook this for a political blog. My mistake.

    • Wow!

      Anyone who could mistake this “vexatious trash” for a political blog needs their heid lukked et son.

      Regards

      [Apologies for lateness of reply – never spotted it until this morning.]

Leave a Reply

